The Hunnu Rock Activism: Claiming back the Mongolian Masculinity

What we know and what we do not know about the meaning of Masculinity in Mongolia is a mystery. The Hu Band has been a key player in the activist movement claiming back the original definition of what it means to be a Mongolian (men). Can this movement promote gender equality?

Tsolmontuya Altankhundaga
5 min readJul 15, 2020
Photo of The Hu band by the Guardian

A few months ago, I started investigating the topic of masculinity in the research of my thesis topic in anthropology for my part-time Ph.D. studies. As a self-proclaimed feminist, it may not be the most fascinating topic you may think, but it was something I found myself both protecting and denying at the same time throughout my previous endeavors in Women’s Studies in Hawai’i.

I remember sitting in class learning about Chicana feminism, reading Cherrie Moraga’s pieces. There, it felt like I understood where she was coming from “stuck in between protecting and denying”. As a newcomer to the field of women’s studies and also by being a Mongolian, I was still a patriotic person myself who often critiques the modern interpretation and appropriation of cultures, yet still denies certain toxic re-interpretation of gendered power in contemporary Mongolia.

I often found myself writing with a tone of “in efforts to protect my indigenous culture” of Chinggis Khaan, claiming him and the Mongol Empire as a true feminist system back then. Deep down, I’ve always thought Mongolian Masculinity could create and initiate a potential protective factor in ending wife-beating norms, rape- accepting marriage, and the toxic belief for appointing certain “places for women” that builds deeper on the barriers in surviving economically and politically in urbanized life today. But how? Wouldn’t saying this and searching for such an answer be anti-feminist? But perhaps I am being too binary again presuming that the terms of femininity and masculinity are the opposites. Non-Binarism should be the true feminist thinking right!?

I’ll find out more once my research is enriched in time. Stay tuned! But for now, let’s get into how the Hu Band started this new wave of activism in Mongolia, and what are they trying to say?

Hunnu Rock and Mongolian Nationalism

When we talk about activism, it is often women’s empowerment movements that come to mind. Women’s movements have been increasing in contemporary Mongolia with the replication of western radical activist movements addressing domestic violence, rape, and even LGBTQ women’s rights. Women’s groups and efforts to contribute to building stronger feminist movements have been growing throughout the past decade. However, there is a strong visible denial within many communities that I myself belong to that alienates the very subject of “feminism” and “gender equality”.

The Hu Band’s activism really worked quickly though. Starting with 45 million views on Youtube, getting recognized on major international media, traveling across the globe for its concerts, The Hu band has started an unbelievable wave of activism about Nationalism and Mongolia. They created a strong notion of what it means to be a Mongol, in particular, a Mongol Men- A Nationalist- A protector. A protector from everything that is alien-like or a threat to the Mongolian culture.

They sing exclusively in the Mongolian language, and the band brought attention to many traditional instruments such as khoomii, morin khuur, tuvshuur, and tumor khuur. When I first heard about The Hu, I never wanted to listen to their songs because I had my own biases. To understand and break my own biases, I did take the time to fully be attentive to all their work. Yu ve Yu ve Yu ve, one of their Hits critiques the existence of toxic masculinity if you pay closer attention to the tone and lyrics. They critique and deny that the very definition of origins of Mongolian Nationalism is NOT the nationalism we see today. The extremist nationalist movements are basically critiqued by The Hu. Bravo to that!

Now, I was curious to always link their image to how this activism sees women. Even though I am not well-read among my culture, traditions literature on the harmony between men and women, the latest new song of this band grabbed my interest to see the continuation of the division of labor amongst men, women, and the “gender norms” the song declared.

Women and The Hu

As usual, many Mongolian readers may think that “Why should even The Hu be linked to gender equality and women”? I do not blame you, but again, this is not about men or women, but this is all about how we may take advantage of the powers and divert those privilege to where it needs addressing. The Hu band clearly has so much power. The blast Naadam performance was worshipped by everyone on social media. Claiming back the true colors of who Mongolians are and regardless of gender, The Hu band is the Hero of this time my friends. I am not a worshipper, but I am curious about how this power can be used.

So, how can Hunnu Rock share its privilege, power, and music to not just inspire and promote Mongolian tourism, music, and heritage but also be the Champions for the global women’s empowerment movements? If Mongolian masculinity is not the toxic masculinity we face today, how do we claim back the origins of Mongolian Masculinity? The Hu Band is the perfect local champion to do for promoting and raising more awareness towards even #HeForShe.

However, on April 30th, “The Song of Women” was released and I was excited to dive into the music and lyrics. I saw the same concept of “women” being a mother, a wife conflicting the very fundamentals of feminism. The lyrics and the video itself were mostly focusing on the message of the strong linkage between women and motherhood. Mongolians have unique protection and sense of respect towards motherhood, but in contemporary living, these norms are creating more barriers “gender-specifically”.

If this could be shifted, and if such movements like Hunnu Rock movements advocate for women’s liberation, I think we’d see a drastic change in gender equality. As a Mongolian, I now have so much respect for this band. I listen to their music while I am at the gym, and I like how they send out the message that the toxic masculinity is not what we may claim as Mongolian masculinity. But, there is still so much room for improving the messages they send out. Because, we can not control how one re-interprets the message, the image of men, to promote positive masculinity. But we can always res-assure, that we together “harmoniously” advocate for gender equality with slight changes in the messages we form.

HU! HU! HU!

--

--

Tsolmontuya Altankhundaga

Enriching the content about Mongolia on women, men, society and culture. Opinions are my own and not the views of my employer